Miscellaneous Programs

The Albert F. Garner, Jr Eagle Scout Recognition Award

The Eagle Scout Award is the highest rank a Scout can achieve. Since its introduction in 1911, the Eagle Scout rank has been earned by more than 2 million young men. The title of Eagle Scout is held for life, thus giving rise to the phrase "Once an Eagle, always an Eagle".

Requirements include earning at least 21 merit badges and demonstrating Scout Spirit, service, and leadership. In addition to several other requirements, boys must plan and complete an Eagle Scout Service Project.

After a young man has earned the Eagle Rank but has not yet turned 18, he can continue to earn Merit Badges. For the first five additional badges, he can receive a Bronze Palm. For the first ten earned, he can receive a Gold Palm and a Silver Palm for an extra 15 merit badges above those required for Eagle. These can be earned continuously in sets of five additional badges, with a required three month active service between each palm.

Download the Eagle Scout Award Application


by Rick Conn, MSA VAMC Program Georgia State Coordinator

[Learn more about Georgia Veterans Benefits]

Military veterans and the next of kin of deceased former military members may now use a new online military personnel records system to request documents.

Other individuals with a need for documents must still complete the Standard Form 180, which can be downloaded from the on-line web site. Because the requester will be asked to supply all information essential for NPRC to process the request, delays that normally occur when NPRC has to ask veterans for additional information will be minimized.

Read more ...